Back to News

04. 25. 2014, Business in Vancouver

BCTIA announces 2014 technology impact award finalists

by Emma Crawford Hampel

A month after being named one of Canada’s best-managed companies, Vancouver’s Global Relay is up for another award.

The company is one of three finalists in the BC Technology Industry Association’s (BCTIA) annual technology impact awards for company of the year.

Also nominated in this category are Alpha Technologies Ltd. and Fortinet, both of Burnaby.

“The 2014 TIA finalists illustrate the continuing maturity of the B.C. technology industry, and exemplify the ingenuity, strength and diversity of our ecosystem,” said BCTIA president Bill Tam.

“With companies like these, it’s easy to see why Vancouver and B.C. continue to gain global recognition as the place to start and grow a tech company.”

The winners will be announced at a June 5 gala in Vancouver. The other nominees are:

Adoption of Technology:

FCV Technologies – www.fcv.ca and WorkBC – www.workbc.ca

Traction on Demand – www.tractionondemand.com and TELUS – http://www.telus.com/

Webtech Wireless Inc. – www.webtechwireless.com and Vedder Transport Ltd. – www.veddertransportation.com

Excellence in Product Innovation:

Cooledge Lighting Inc. – http://www.cooledgelighting.com dPoint Technologies Inc. – http://www.dpoint.ca

Elastic Path – http://www.elasticpath.com

Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology: 

Axine Water Technologies – https://axinewater.com

Global Relay – http://www.globalrelay.com UrtheCast – http://www.urthecast.com

Community Engagement:

HP Advanced Solutions Inc. – www.hpadvancedsolutions.com PaySavvy Canada, Inc. – www.paysavvy.com

Traction on Demand – www.tractionondemand.com

Team of the Year:

BC Hydro Data Centre Migration Team – http://www.bchydro.com Schneider Electric MicroGrid Lab Team – http://www.schneider-electric.com

Most Promising Start-Up:

Fusion Pipe Software Solutions – http://www.fusionpipe.com PHEMI Health Systems – www.phemi.com

Procurify – http://www.procurify.com

Trulioo – http://www.trulioo.com

Emerging Company of the Year: 

Aquatic Informatics Inc. – http://www.aquaticinformatics.com QuickMobile – http://www.quickmobile.com/

Zafin – http://www.zafin.com

Company of the Year:

Alpha Technologies Ltd. – www.alpha.ca Fortinet – www.fortinet.com

Global Relay – www.globalrelay.net

 

Link to original article